Write a Letter of Complaint to a Book Dealer for the Delay in the Delivery of Books

Letter writing nowadays is surviving in a very few sectors. In this era of the digital revolution, people do not usually write letters for regular communication.

Only for official purposes, letters are still being written. Due to this real-time importance, business letter writing is a significant part of almost all boards’ English writing comprehension syllabus. In today’s session, you will learn how to write letters of complaint to a book dealer for delays in the delivery of books. Hopefully, you will find this session important for your upcoming exam. 

Feature image of Letter of Complaint to a Book Dealer for the Delay in the Delivery of Books

Example 1

Question: Suppose you ordered some study books from a dealer a few weeks ago. As the books are not yet delivered, write a letter to the dealer complaining about this delay in delivery and ask for an immediate solution.

Hints: You ordered books three weeks ago- Was to be delivered within a week- Not yet delivered- You paid 50% in advance- No positive response despite the delay- Important study books- Exams nearby- Need immediate solution

Arun Kumar Street, Ghola
Kolkata: 700110

October 2, 2021

The Dealer

Chatterjee and Chakraborty Pvt. Ltd
22, Anukul Sen Sarani
Kolkata: 700013

Subject: Delay in books’ delivery, need an immediate solution

Dear Mr Kanti,

I am writing this letter to you in order to raise an issue with the delivery of some books I ordered from your store a few weeks ago. 

I ordered 5 different books from your shop around three weeks ago. According to the deal, the books were to be delivered to my house within a week. But none of those books has been delivered even after three weeks passed after my order. I ordered those books on an immediate delivery basis. Even I have paid 50% of the total billing amount in advance, but still, I am getting no positive response regarding the delivery. 

The books I ordered is very essential for my study. Moreover, my exam is quite nearby. So, I hope you have understood the significance of this issue. I would hereby like to request you to look into this matter immediately and initiate the delivery as soon as possible. I am also attaching a copy of the bill with the letter. The name and date of order of those books are mentioned there. 

Also Read:  Write a Letter to the Dealer Complaining about the Defective Washing Machine

Yours Sincerely,
Nikhilesh Sanyal


Example 2

Question: You are Ritu. Suppose you ordered a few books for your coaching library that were to be delivered a week ago. But as the books have not been delivered yet, write a letter to the dealer of the shop.

Hints: You ordered 25 books for your coaching library- Was to be delivered in three days- Not yet delivered despite a week- Important books for the library- Students are seeking- Exams nearby- Order invoice and books’ list attached

2/61 Ajay Nagar
North 24 Parganas, West Bengal

July 13, 2021

The Manager
Nuruldas Book Palace
37/A, Saltlake
Bidhannagar 700101

Subject: Delay in delivery of books for the library

Dear Mr Basu,

I ordered a few books from your store around a week ago. This letter to you is intended to raise an issue with the delivery of those books. 

Around a week ago, I ordered 25 books from your store for my coaching library. While ordering, I was told that the books will be delivered within three days. But it is already more than a week and the books have not yet been delivered. The books are very important for the library. Students are looking for those books as their exams are coming soon. 

Now, I think you have understood the gravity of the issue. So, I would earnestly request you to kindly look into this matter and let me know what I should do next. The order invoice will be attached to this letter for your convenience. I am attaching a list of those books too. Please take initiative to resolve this issue as soon as possible. 

Yours Sincerely,
Ranu Mondal


Example 3

Question: You are Aslam. Suppose you submitted some of your books at a book store for hard binding. Write a letter to the owner of the store complaining about the delay in delivery of those books. 

Hints: You submitted old books for hard binding- Went through an advertisement on social media- Important books-  Were to be delivered within two weeks- Not yet delivered even after a month- You tried to call but nobody responded- Request for solution

55 Rabindra Sarani, Bisorpara
Thane

Also Read:  Write a Letter to the Dealer Complaining about the Defective Washing Machine

February 18, 2022

The Sales Executive Officer

Kotha O Kahini
Kashi Mitra Road,Taltala
Mumbai

Subject: Complaint regarding a delay in delivery of books

Dear Mr Kaul,

Around a month ago, I submitted 10 of my old books at your service centre for hard binding. Today, I am writing this letter to you in order to let you know that I have not yet received any of those books. 

I went through an advertisement on social media about your service and submitted some of my important books at your centre. While submitting, I was informed that the books will be delivered to my place within two weeks. But even after 4 weeks have already passed, I have still not received any of those books. Even I have tried calling your store, but nobody answered my call. The books I have given you for hard binding are very important to me. 

I hope, you have understood the significance of the issue. So, I would like to request you to please look into this matter immediately and initiate the delivery of my books as soon as possible. I am attaching a copy of the invoice with this letter for your convenience. 

Yours Sincerely,
Aslam Beg


Example 4

Question: You are Anirban. Suppose you ordered a few storybooks and they are not yet delivered even after a month. Write a letter to the dealer of the book store complaining about this issue of delay and ask for a refund. 

Hints: Annual district book fair- You ordered seven books from a stall of a publishing house- Paid fully in advance- Delivery scheduled within a week- Not delivered yet after a month- You worried about the payment- Purchased the books from somewhere else- Seeking a refund- Attach invoice and account details

YT Block, Radhabazar
Kolkata: 700002

Also Read:  Write a Letter to the Dealer Complaining about the Defective Washing Machine

December 11, 2021

The Customer Service Executive
Sarkar & Sarkar Publishing House

65 Ballygunge Circular Road
Kolkata: 700076

Subject: Delay in delivery of books; seeking a refund

Sir,

In the last annual district book fair, I ordered a few storybooks from the stall of your publishing house. This letter I am writing to you to raise an issue regarding a delay in delivery of those books. 

Around a month ago, I visited your stall at the book fair and ordered 7 storybooks. I have paid the entire amount in advance. While ordering, I was informed that the books will be delivered to my registered address within a week. But even a month has already been passed none of the books has been delivered. I am now worried about the advance payment I made while ordering. Moreover, due to this extreme delay in the delivery, I have purchased those books from somewhere else. 

So, now this is my request to you to kindly cancel the order and initiate a refund for the advance payment I made. With this letter, I will be attaching a copy of the invoice and my refund account details for your convenience. 

Yours Sincerely,
Anirban Banerjee


That was all about our presentation on writing letters of complaint to a book dealer for the delay in the delivery of books. Hopefully, you have understood everything regarding the topic after going through this entire session. Don’t hesitate to put your doubts and queries regarding the session if have any in the comment section below. I will try to attend them as soon as possible. 

To get the latest updates on our upcoming session, please join our telegram channel. Thank you for being with us. Good luck with your exam.

Join us on Telegram